My Mobile Altar

When it comes to finding alone time with God, sometimes you have to take it where you can get it. Susanna Wesley was the wife of a 17th century preacher and mother of nineteen children, ten of whom lived to adulthood. Two of her children were John and Charles Wesley, who founded the Methodist movement. Susanna was committed to a daily time of prayer; if she was unable to find a quiet place to pray, she would often lift her apron over her head as a sign to the children to be extra quiet – mother was praying.

My mobile altar looks like this.

My mobile altar looks like this.

For me, it is not uncommon for my car to be transformed into a mobile altar. Some days my drive time is the only time I have alone with my heart and my Lord, and on those days, He often visits me in very powerful and almost tangible ways.

Yesterday was no exception. I was on my way to the first of three back-to-back client meetings, and as I listened to Michael W. Smith’s Deep In Love With You, suddenly there He was. I was singing along when I was unexpectedly overwhelmed with His presence. Unable to continue singing, I let my heart to do the talking as I wordlessly told Him everything He is to me – my strength, my hope, my fortress, my peace – followed by a long list of everything I know Him to be and what I currently need Him to be.

Then I listened.

This is a crucial part of maintaining a Mary heart. It is very important that we not only pour out our hearts to Him, but take the time to listen to His. He revealed to me something He is wanting to do in my heart and why the struggles I currently face are a necessary of the process. Peace followed.

Of course, by now I have cried all my makeup off and am a tear-stained, sniffling mess. But that’s okay. A tissue and a quick touch-up made me ready enough to face the rest of my day. As for whether or not anyone noticed I had been crying, I don’t know. Honestly, I don’t really care. Even though this kind of encounter with Him may not always come at a “convenient” time, I won’t push Him away and tell Him to come back later. And I won’t be ashamed that my less-than-camera-ready face reveals my messy intimate time with Him.

Mary moments can happen anytime, anywhere. The important thing is that we let them happen. Nothing deepens your intimacy with Him like a good Mary moment.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

